Dynamo FC fall to Charlotte 2-1


HOUSTON (Sunday, July 3, 2022) – Houston Dynamo FC fell to Charlotte FC by a final score of 2-1 at PNC Stadium this evening.  


Houston got on the board in the 84th minute, as forward Fafa Picault put home a chipped pass from midfielder Darwin Quintero to make the score 2-1. Picault was initially ruled offside, but the call was later overturned after the referee consulted Video Review. The goal was Picault’s third of the season. 


The visiting team took the lead in the 28th minute after Kamil Józwiak’s pass, which was intended for Karol Swiderski, bounced off midfielder Matías Vera as he tracked back to defend and trickled into the net for an own goal.  


Charlotte doubled their lead in the 74th minute after Brandt Bronico found Andre Shinyashiki outside the box. Shinyashiki dribbled toward the penalty spot and fired a low shot into the bottom right corner of the goal.  


Quintero got the fans on their feet in the third minute after he just missed wide of the far post from a tight angle. Quintero had a similar shot 10 minutes later that earned the Dynamo a corner kick following a deflection off a Charlotte defender. 


Dynamo forward Sebas Ferreira forced a save from the Charlotte shot stopper in the 11th minute. Defender Zeca found the Paraguayan international at the edge of the box and his effort was saved at the bottom corner of the near post.  


The Dynamo host FC Dallas for the second and final leg of the Texas Derby on Saturday, July 9 at PNC Stadium. This will mark the first opportunity for fans to watch midfielder Héctor Herrera take the field at PNC Stadium. For tickets and additional information, visit HoustonDynamoFC.com.  




Houston Dynamo FC (6-9-3; 21 pts.) 1-2 Charlotte FC (7-10-2; 23 pts.) 

MLS Regular Season – Week 18 

PNC Stadium – Houston, Texas 

Attendance: 19,242 








Houston Dynamo FC 

Charlotte FC 


CLT: Matías Vera (own goal) 28’ 

CLT: Andre Shinyashiki 5 (Brandt Bronico 2) 74’ 

HOU: Fafa Picault 3 (Darwin Quintero 2) 82’ 



Houston Dynamo FC: Steve Clark; Adam Lundkvist (Sam Junqua 77’), Daniel Steres, Tim Parker (C), Zeca; Matías Vera (Memo Rodriguez 77’), Darwin Cerén (Tyler Pasher 61’), Adalberto Carrasquilla; Darwin Quintero, Sebas Ferreira (Fafa Picault 61’), Thor Úlfarsson 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.