Houston Dynamo FC has protected 12 players


HOUSTON (Monday, Dec. 14, 2020) – Houston Dynamo FC has protected 12 players in advance of Tuesday’s MLS Expansion Draft. By protecting the players, they cannot be selected by Austin FC, Major League Soccer’s 27th club and the third in the Lone Star State. The Expansion Draft is scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 15. 


The full list of protected players is available below in alphabetical order.  


Houston Dynamo Football Club Protected Players 

FW Mateo Bajamich 

MF Darwin Cerén 

FW Niko Hansen  

DF Sam Junqua  

FW Ari Lassiter 

DF Adam Lundkvist 

GK Marko Marić 

GK Michael Nelson 

FW Darwin Quintero  

FW Christian Ramirez 

DF Zarek Valentin 

MF Matías Vera 


Additionally, Dynamo Academy alumni Erik McCue, Marcelo Palomino and Memo Rodriguez are classified as Homegrown Players and are not eligible for selection.  Homegrown Players are defined by the draft rules procedures as players age 25 and under on a club’s roster at the end of the 2020 MLS Season. The three Dynamo Academy products did not have to be included on the list of protected players for Tuesday’s draft.  


Austin FC may select up to five players from the eligible MLS player pool on Tuesday. Only a single player can be drafted from any one club. A full overview of the 2020 MLS Expansion Draft is available here.  

No comments

Powered by Blogger.